Book Review – Six of Crows

img_20170201_173722_549I’ll admit, I was hesitant to start reading Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I’d heard such rave reviews about this book that my expectations were extremely high, and I did not want to be disappointed. But sometimes a book is worthy of all the hype, and this book is definitely one of them!

This paragon of prose follows Kaz and his crew as they plan and execute a heist few would willingly attempt and even fewer could successfully complete. Along the way, enemies become allies, allies become friends, and friends become family. And, of course, there’s no shortage of witty one-liners, intense fight scenes, and “will they/won’t they” relationships.

Basically, Six of Crows is an epic tale of adventure and ruthless determination that haunted my thoughts long after I read the last page. Bardugo managed to craft a beautifully complex and detailed world to act as host for her cast of perfectly flawed characters. Each of the central figures in the story is well-developed and unique, acting as an integral player in this dark and somewhat twisted fantasy novel.

While the first several chapters are a bit of an info dump, the pacing of the story quickly picks up, and I became so engrossed that I couldn’t put it down. And the subsequent day spent sleep-deprived was well worth it!

This was the first novel written by Leigh Bardugo that I’ve read, but I can guarantee it won’t be my last!

5 out of 5 flowers (because I’ve decided to stick with flowers instead of stars!)

One thought on “Book Review – Six of Crows

  1. Pingback: Must-read: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Just A Few Chapters More

Leave a Reply

