Book Review – The Sun Is Also A Star

img_20170219_165937_184It’s finally time to review The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon, a book I finished reading in the middle of February [*insert slightly embarrassed emoji*]. To be fair, I was out of town when I finished reading this book, and then it was my birthday, and then I went through that awful reading slump for the better part of March….but enough of the excuses, it’s time for a book review!

What can I say about The Sun Is Also a Star that hasn’t already been said? Not much, probably. But, it was a super cute book about the rush of first love and living in the moment even when you know the moment won’t last.

The story centers on Daniel and Natasha, two teens that share one epic, not-so-perfect day before life gets in the way. Daniel believes in love at first sight, fate, and the magic of the universe, whereas Natasha puts her faith in science and only believes what can be proven. But, opposites attract, or so they say…it’s true for the purposes of this story, at least!

What I most loved about this book was the unique, complex characters that Yoon created to tell her story. Each character was well-written, and Daniel and Natasha had such distinct voices that it was easy to switch between their points of view as the story progressed. And I also appreciate how this novel tackled issues of prejudice and family dysfunction in such an honest and tactful way. Superbly done.

Like my other reviews for romance novels, I don’t want to give away too many of the details because the “falling in love” part is expected, but how the story unfolds is where the fun truly lies. So, I’ll leave you with this: The Sun Is Also a Star is a thought-provoking, emotional, beautifully-written novel that left a warm feeling in my chest for hours after I finished reading it.

Overall, I give this book 4/5 flowers! Definitely a great choice if you’re looking for something to read!

Oh, and one more note: I’ve heard Daniel and Natasha’s “instalove” called unrealistic, but I think that’s a bit harsh. Young love is a totally different breed; it’s easy to fall in love when you’re not yet jaded by life. Just think about how easy it was to become “best friends” with someone when you were little…you start off strangers on the playground and by the end of the afternoon, you were promising to be best friends forever. Life complicates love, but I don’t think you needed me to tell you that!

 

 

Leave a Reply

