Book Review – The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

IMG_20170319_234528_263When there’s lag time between reading a book and reviewing it, I’ve noticed it makes it easier to differentiate between the truly noteworthy novels and the books that aren’t memorable. The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett falls into the latter category, unfortunately. When I sat down to write this review, I honestly couldn’t even remember the protagonist’s name. I did remember thinking the book was not what I expected, and I wasn’t really sure how i felt about it. Nearly two months later, I think the fact that I could barely remember what it was about is indicative of my feelings (or lack thereof).

The story is narrated by Hawthorn, a seventeen-year-old girl who labels herself a “misfit.” And, she’s definitely weird. But, it stretches past being a good thing and takes a turn into crazy town. I mean, she becomes obsessed with the disappearance of a young woman (Lizzie Lovett), and her main theory (one she fully believes in) is that [spoiler] Lizzie is a werewolf. And on her quest to prove her theory, Hawthorn becomes employed at Lizzie’s place of work, begins dating Lizzie’s boyfriend (who is twenty-five), and, through her own actions, alienates herself from her best friend and family members. It was really hard to like her. But I think that was intentional because many of the other characters in the story call Hawthorn out on her behavior and refuse to coddle her when she makes a mess of things (which happens fairly often).

I had high hopes for this novel, but, in the end, it was just okay. There was nothing wrong with the writing, but the plot…the supernatural aspect surprised me, not really in a good way, and the whole romance with Lizzie’s ex-boyfriend left me feeling sort of gross. I think it comes down to what I expected versus what I got. The title and blurb made me think I’d get a mystery rife with suspense,  but it was basically just a unique take on a coming-of-age story with a splash of romance and a pinch of intrigue.

Overall, I’d give it 3 out of 5 flowers!

Leave a Reply

