Book Review – Heartborn

 

I know, it’s Sunday, and I said I’d be posting reviews on Tuesdays and Saturdays, but I fell asleep before I could post this yesterday. It’s only a day late!


Heartborn by Terry Maggert is a book about love, sacrifice, and family, filled with unique characters, an interesting plot, and enough intrigue to keep you engaged from beginning to end. The amount of head-hopping done as the story is told is a bit difficult to keep up with at first, but once I found the rhythm of the story, I was hooked.

The story is split between two main settings, Earth (or some alternate version of it), and the realm of angels, angels that are power-hungry and scheming, warriors of the sky. Kieron, a young Heartborn angel, falls to Earth where he meets Livvy, a teenager with a defective heart. He knows he is destined to save her, but she knows nothing of the great destiny that awaits her.

The first book in a series, the author spends a significant amount of time describing this realm of angels, the different factions, and the brewing war. And while I liked reading about the blooming relationship between Kieron and Livvy, I really looked forward to the chapters when the story was back with the angels, reading about how Kieron’s family was forced to deal with his departure. The social dynamics, scheming, history, and battle were definitely the parts I enjoyed most.

The ending was a little rushed, but I think that had to do with it being told mostly from Livvy’s POV, and I don’t want to give anything away, but let’s just say she had no idea what was going on either. Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and I would recommend it to fantasy fans who want to read a captivating, well-written story.

4 out of 5 flowers!

*** I received a free advanced reader copy (ARC) of this e-book from the publisher through NetGalley for review consideration. Receiving a free copy of a book in no way affects the honesty of my reviews.

Leave a Reply

