Book Review – The Circus

IMG_20170302_112053_414Sometimes I randomly go on Goodreads and look at all of the current giveaways, entering the ones that seem interesting. So far, I’ve won exactly one of the giveaways I’ve entered. And the book I won was, you guessed it, The Circus by Olivia Levez. I received an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC), but The Circus was officially released on May 4, 2017 in the UK. It has an expected release date of June 13, 2017 for the US!

The Circus tells the story of Willow, a sixteen-year-old girl who runs away from what many people would think is a great life. She has a beautiful home, owns a prized horse, and goes to a great school. But Willow thinks her father doesn’t really care about her and the fact that he’s about to marry a woman half his age just seems to make things worse. So, Willow does the only thing she can think to do: she destroys her soon-to-be-stepmother’s dress and runs away to join the circus.

Honestly, for the majority of the story I didn’t find Willow to be a hugely sympathetic protagonist. But, as Willow’s dreams of becoming a glamorous circus performer clash with her new reality of the grit and grime of living on the streets, Willow’s character develops in a way that left me feeling like she would do things differently the next time she was confronted with a problem. Her friendship with Suze definitely aids in her growth, and I’m happy that the author created at least one truly complex secondary character.

The synopsis provides more than enough information about the book, so I don’t feel like giving another summary of the story. But I will say this, the end of the book is a little too fairy tale-esque for me, but I know people love that kind of stuff, so I’m not too mad about it.

Overall, I’d give this book 3.5 out of 5 flowers!

Leave a Reply

